
Most Target employee benefits start on day one; health insurance doesn’t. Target’s pay and benefits fact sheet, updated in April 2026, says team members get most benefits from their first day. Hourly team members become eligible for health benefits at 25 hours per week.
That 25-hour line is the part new hires misread. Your title doesn’t decide medical coverage at Target. Your average paid hours do, and team members say Target measures that average once a year.
So what does that mean for you? If you average 26 hours, you’re in. If you’re scheduled for 22 during the weeks that count, team members say you can wait a full year for the next chance, even if your hours jump right after.
Health insurance and the 25-hour average
Target offers medical, dental and vision coverage to eligible team members, according to its careers pay and benefits page as of October 2026. The same page adds prescription drug discounts and no-cost virtual care around the clock.
The hours line used to be higher. In a February 2022 press release, Target cut the medical plan requirement for hourly store team members from 30 hours a week to 25, starting with that April’s benefits cycle. The release said about 20% of Target’s team would become newly eligible.
That 2022 release also said waiting periods would shrink by three to nine months, depending on position. It didn’t give the new wait in days.
Do part-time Target employees get health insurance, then? Yes, if their hours average high enough. A part-time cashier who keeps 26 hours a week qualifies under the published rule. Nothing in Target’s public material ties medical coverage to a full-time title.
How Target counts your hours
Team members describe the counting in more detail than Target’s public pages do. In a December 2025 r/Target post, one of them quoted what they called the benefits document. It says hourly eligibility is reviewed each year before the plan year starts, using average weekly hours paid over the previous 52 weeks.
Vacation, sick and holiday hours count toward that average, the same post said. A January 2026 reply put the whole idea in plainer terms:
“You don’t have to average 25 EVERY week – as long as the average over the past 52 week is 24.5 or higher – you are good. You could have one week at 40, one at 30, one at 20 and one at 10 – your average would still be over 24.5. Yes, every hour worked counts.”
– r/Target, January 2026 (8 upvotes)
Watch your meal breaks if your shifts run long. Team members in a September 2026 r/Target thread said only paid hours count. An unpaid 30-minute break on a seven-hour shift doesn’t help your average.
You can see where you stand before Target does the math. Those same team members said your average hours appear on your pay stub in Workday. Look before the yearly review, not after it.
Why does a near miss hurt so much? A team member replying in December 2025 warned that anyone under the line at review time won’t get Target health coverage until the next year.
There’s one reported exception. In May 2026, a graduate losing school insurance said Target’s benefits help line confirmed a qualifying life event would let them enroll, as long as they were already working full-time hours. That’s one person’s call, so make your own call to the same line.
Your store’s payroll matters too. When a May 2026 poster asked whether Target keeps people just under the line on purpose, the top reply pointed at volume instead:
“25+ and it really depends on the store. The best way to ensure you get 25hrs is to cross train or go to the store with the highest volume around you.”
– r/Target, May 2026 (11 upvotes)
When coverage starts for new hires
New hires have no prior year to average, so they run on a separate clock. In February 2026, a team member who had moved from seasonal to regular status wrote that their 90 days would end on February 21. Replies said becoming newly eligible opens a special enrollment window.
The same replies said the regular plan year begins April 1. The original poster listed 2026 open enrollment as February 2 to February 10, and Target’s 2022 release also tied its health changes to an April benefits cycle.

Which insurer will you get? It depends on your state. In a September 2026 thread, a California team member listed Kaiser and Blue Cross options at open enrollment, and another said Target’s plans run through Blue Cross Blue Shield. Target doesn’t post premiums publicly, so you’ll see the cost per paycheck only in the enrollment screens.
Does Target match your 401(k)?
Yes. Target matches 401(k) contributions dollar for dollar up to 5% of pay, with 100% immediate vesting, according to its careers page as of October 2026. The April 2026 fact sheet repeats that formula as 5% of eligible pay, so matched money is yours the moment it lands.
Only the first 5% earns a match.
A team member posted a screenshot to r/Target in April 2026 after seeing 8% listed as match-eligible, and replies explained the extra 3% simply goes unmatched. If you put in 3%, Target matches 3%.
When can you enroll? Target’s 2022 release promised faster 401(k) access but gave no number, and its current public pages don’t state an eligibility date. Ask for it in writing with your hiring paperwork, or find it in the benefits portal during your first week.
Walmart matches up to 6%, but only after 1,000 hours of service, according to the plan summary in Walmart’s 2026 Associate Benefits Book, as laid out in the Walmart 401(k) breakdown. Target’s match is smaller and has no vesting wait.
Two money tools sit next to the 401(k). The April 2026 fact sheet says DailyPay lets you pull earned wages by the next business day at no cost. It also says more than 50,000 active and former team members save close to $341 a year using Target Credit Union, as of 2025.
Paid time off, sick hours and family leave
Target says eligible team members get paid time off, sick pay and paid national holidays, on its careers page as of October 2026. It doesn’t publish the amounts, because hours, position and state law set them.
Team members fill in some of the gaps. In June 2026, r/Target posters said Target’s base sick-time policy needs an average of at least 20 hours a week at the yearly calculation. New hires are the exception, they added, since there’s no prior year to average.
Accrual rates are local. In an October 2026 thread, a Minnesota team member reported one sick hour for every 30 worked, and a New York team member reported the same. Others said it varies by state, so don’t assume yours matches.
Family leave is spelled out more clearly. Eligible team members receive up to four weeks of paid family leave at 100% pay replacement, Target’s careers page says. The April 2026 fact sheet adds that this leave sits on top of the medical leave a birth parent receives. Target also reimburses up to $10,000 per child for eligible adoption expenses and up to $10,000 per attempt for eligible surrogacy expenses, per the careers page. The fact sheet lists free backup care for children and older relatives, a fertility program, and maternity coaching plus doula reimbursement for team members enrolled in a medical plan.
Dream to Be, mental health and other day-one programs
Several Target benefits don’t depend on your hours at all. Target’s careers page lists DailyPay, CirrusMD virtual care, Spring Health, the team member discount and Dream to Be among programs available upon starting, at no cost. A footnote adds that eligibility can still vary by position, hours and length of service.
Dream to Be is the biggest of those. The April 2026 fact sheet says it’s open to U.S. team members on day one through Target’s partner Guild. It covers degrees, certificates and bootcamps from more than 40 schools with no out-of-pocket costs, and more than 10,000 team members have graduated.
The careers page counts roughly 500 certificate, bootcamp and degree programs, many tuition-free. If you’ve been putting off a degree, this is the benefit worth asking about first.
Spring Health gives all team members and their families free, confidential mental health support around the clock, per the careers page. The fact sheet says nearly 40,000 team members and household members have completed over 100,000 appointments since Spring Health arrived in 2024. CirrusMD’s text-based doctor visits carry no copay.
The newest additions, per the April 2026 fact sheet, are PerkSpot’s 10,000-plus outside discounts, added in 2025, a One Pass Select gym discount for all U.S. team members, and a 20% team member discount on adult owned-brand apparel and accessories.
The store discount, 10% on most purchases plus the wellness and apparel layers, has its own page. See how the Target employee discount works at the register and online, including the payment-card rule that trips people up.
Target benefits at a glance
| Benefit | Who qualifies | When it starts | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical, dental, vision | Hourly team members averaging 25+ hours a week | About 90 days for new hires (reported); then yearly review | Target fact sheet, Apr 2026; r/Target, Feb 2026 |
| 401(k), 5% match, immediate vesting | Eligible team members | Not stated publicly | Target careers page, Oct 2026 |
| Paid family leave, up to 4 weeks at 100% | Eligible team members | Not stated publicly | Target careers page, Oct 2026 |
| Sick pay | About 20+ average hours (reported); state law can differ | Accrues as you work | r/Target, Jun and Oct 2026 |
| Dream to Be education | U.S. team members | Day one | Target fact sheet, Apr 2026 |
| CirrusMD and Spring Health | All team members and families | Upon starting | Target careers page, Oct 2026 |
| Team member discount | All team members, spouse or partner, eligible dependents | Upon starting | Target fact sheet, Apr 2026 |
Raising benefits in a Target hiring conversation
Save benefits for the end, after you’ve handled the six recorded Target questions and the follow-up with a manager. From my years as an interviewer at Bank of America, Wells Fargo and Walmart, I’d say candidates who asked about benefits last, and asked precisely, didn’t lose points for it.
Precision is the whole trick. Say this: “How many hours a week does this position usually get, and do people in it stay above the 25-hour benefits average?” Not this: “Do I get insurance?”
The first version shows the hiring manager you know how Target’s system works. It also signals you plan to stay long enough for the average to matter, which is exactly what a manager wants to hear.
Before your first shift, sort out two practical things: what the Target dress code requires now, and whether your position falls on the drug-screen side of Target’s line.
Weighing a Costco offer at the same time? Costco’s careers site lists health coverage for part-time employees too, though its medical waiting period isn’t public. The Costco employee benefits breakdown walks through it.
Target employee benefits FAQ
Do part-time Target employees get benefits?
Part-time Target employees get the day-one programs, including the discount, CirrusMD, Spring Health and Dream to Be, per Target’s careers page. Medical coverage depends on averaging at least 25 hours a week, not on a full-time title, according to Target’s April 2026 fact sheet.
How many hours do you need for benefits at Target?
Target’s hourly team members need 25 hours a week to qualify for health benefits, per Target’s April 2026 fact sheet. Team members on r/Target report the threshold works as an average of about 24.5 paid hours over the prior 52 weeks, reviewed once a year.
Does Target have a 401(k) match?
Target matches 401(k) contributions dollar for dollar up to 5% of eligible pay, with 100% immediate vesting, according to Target’s careers page and April 2026 fact sheet. Anything you contribute above 5% isn’t matched.
When do Target benefits start?
Most Target benefits start on day one, Target’s April 2026 fact sheet says. Health insurance is the main exception: team members report new hires become eligible after about 90 days if their hours qualify, with a special enrollment window when they do.